2013-04-04

Reduce stress



The Cancer Support Community Valley/Ventura/Santa Barbara will host a free eight-week seminar titled “Mindfulnessbased Stress Reduction” from 1:30 to 3:45 p.m. Wed., April 10 through May 29 at 530 Hampshire Road, Westlake Village. The class is based on Jon Kabat Zinn’s program at the Center for Mindfulness at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center. The program combines meditation, gentle yoga, […]

Lucy Martin treated poorly



My husband and I were at the city council meeting March 27 at city hall. We are supporters of Lucy Martin, but more importantly, we are supporters of Calabasas. We feel that Ms. Martin adds a much-needed voice on the City Council. She is not a lawyer or developer or political crony. She got elected by her constituents to represent […]

Reality party draws attention to underage drinking issue



Straight Up Ventura County, in collaboration with Conejo Valley Unified School District, Conejo Council PTA, Break- Through, Engage Recovery and Thousand Oaks Police Department, presents a Reality Party for Parents to expose underage drinking, binge drinking and drug culture on Sat., April 6 at houses in Thousand Oaks, Westlake Village and Newbury Park. Addresses will be given when a tour […]

High School Hi-Lights



Agoura ChargersSat., April 6: Mock SAT/G building/ 8:30 a.m.Mon., April 8: Late start dayzero period begins at 9 a.m.IBPA meeting/faculty diningroom/6 p.m.Tues., April 9: WASC parenthome group/media center/7 p.m.Charger Club/A1/7 p.m.Wed., April 10: Lip sync information meeting/A1/12:25 p.m.TAB/faculty dining room/7p.m.Thurs., April 11: Every 15MinutesCalabasas CoyotesMon., April 8: Counselors toA.E. Wright Middle SchoolPFC meeting/9:30 a.m.Dodgeball second semestertournament/12:15 p.m.Cheer paren/5 p.m.Dance booster/6:30 […]

Calendar



THURS., APRIL 4 Democratic Club Of Camarillo 6:15 p.m. at Orchid Building, 816 Camarillo Springs Road, Camarillo. State Sen. Hannah-Beth Jackson discusses her experiences and impressions on returning to Sacramento. Free. Phone: 805.484.6601. Mysteries To Die For Book Group 6:45 p.m. at Super Tommy’s, 3085 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd., T.O. Discussion of “True Detectives” by Jonathan Kellerman. Guests welcome. Contact: […]

Take Your Acorn on Vacation



Martin deserved what she got



A few citizens of Calabasas were shocked by the City Council succession results last Wednesday. To those who have followed Calabasas politics during the last two years, it came as no surprise. Fred Gaines was appointed mayor and Lucy Martin was denied the mayor pro tem position. Martin campaigned in 2011 on issues of city mismanagement, bloated city budgets and […]

Dancing their way to the top



Reach out to your local school district

Oak Park Unified

District Office Switchboard: (818)735-3200 Administration Tony Knight, superintendent: tknight@opusd.k12.ca.us Leslie Heilbron, asst. superintendent: lheilbron@oakparkusd.org Debra Burgher, principal, Brookside Elementary School: dburgher@oakparkusd.org Erik Warren, principal: Oak Hills Elementary School, ewarren@oakparkusd.org Jon Duim, principal: Red Oak Elementary School, jduim@oakparkusd.org Brad Benioff, principal, Medea Creek Middle School: bbenioff@oakparkusd.org Kevin Buchanan, principal, Oak Park High School: kbuchanan@oakparkusd.org Lou Tabone, principal, Oak View High School: […]

Bronx wedding musical at Plaza



The Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza Foundation will present Musical Theatre Guild’s “A Catered Affair” at 3 p.m. Sun., April 21 in the Scherr Forum at the Thousand Oaks Civic Arts Plaza, 2100 E. Thousand Oaks Blvd. The musical is directed by Alan Bailey with musical direction by Brent Crayon. Tickets for “A Catered Affair” are $40. Group discounts are […]


Category Pages are limited to 90 days. Please use the archive page or the search box to find older articles.