2013-03-07

Dance fever hits Yerba Buena



MOVIN’ AND GROOVIN’— Second-grade students from the Laurie Milgrim and Judy Sher classes at Yerba Buena Elementary School in Agoura Hills were treated to a six-week residency dance class with instructor Celena Turney. Left, Emma Oren, Merrosha Kotler, Alexandra Humphreys and Nina Nejadrasool practice one of a variety of dances they learned. Below, Trenton, Mateen, Pyrce and Ian warm up […]

The Art of Being



“I don’t know what your destiny will be, but one thing I do know: the only ones among you who will be really happy are those who have sought and found how to serve.” — Albert Schweitzer Helping others is helping yourself Recently, my wife, Diane, had a conversation with her 90-yearold mother. When she told me that her mom […]

The Movie Nut



Fee, fi, fo, fum. I smell a movie that’s just ho-hum. The original “Jack and the Beanstalk” fairy tale was the story of a boy and his mother, and the cow he traded for five magic beans. Jack climbed a beanstalk to steal gold coins, a magical hen and a talking golden harp from an angry giant—and then chopped down […]

Big-hearted students make blankets



The fifth-grade students of Lupin Hill Elementary School showed some big heart on Valentine’s Day with a service effort supporting My Stuff Bags Foundation in Westlake Village. The organization prepares bags filled with necessities and new items for children who are taken from their homes during situations where they are in danger or being neglected. The “soul” of these bags […]

Gun violence solutions sought




The school shooting in Connecticut late last year continues to prompt debate about how to curb gun violence and protect lives. On March 3, the Church of the Epiphany in Oak Park hosted a forum that examined gun violence in the U.S. and its relation to politics, mental illness, cultural and economic inequality and other factors. The speakers included Ventura […]

Parapsychologist fancies discussion about UFO’s



Dr. Barry E. Taff, parapsychologist and UFO author, will speak at the next meeting of CERO International at 7 p.m., Sat., March 9 at the Thousand Oaks Inn, 75 W. Thousand Oaks Blvd. CERO is the Close Encounters Research Organization, a group that investigates reports of UFOs and encounters with their occupants. Taff has a doctorate in psychophysiology with a […]

Pet of the Week



BUNNIES GALORE—These baby rabbits were born on Christmas Eve. They are sweet and ready for a kind home: one black boy, one white boy, two grey girls and a white lionhead girl. If you would like to adopt any, ask for white boy No. A4538404, black boy No. A4538418, grey girls No. 4538408 or No. 45384524, and the white lionhead […]

Calendar



THURS., MARCH 7 Senior Luncheon Noon at Pleasant Valley Senior Center, 1605 Burnley St., Camarillo. Corn beef and cabbage lunch. Free screening of “The Three Stooges.” $5 and reservations required for lunch. Phone: 805.482.4881. Democratic Club Of Camarillo 6:15 p.m. in Orchid Building, 816 Camarillo Springs Road, Camarillo. Guest speaker is Ferial Masry, who has run for political offce in […]

Contacts for your local school district offcials



District Office Switchboard: (818)735-3200 Administration Tony Knight, superintendent: tknight@opusd.k12.ca.us Leslie Heilbron, asst. superintendent: lheilbron@oakparkusd.org Debra Burgher, principal, Brookside Elementary School: dburgher@oakparkusd.org Erik Warren, principal: Oak Hills Elementary School, ewarren@oakparkusd.org Jon Duim, principal: Red Oak Elementary School, jduim@oak- parkusd.org Brad Benioff, principal, Medea Creek Middle School: bbenioff@oakparkusd.org Kevin Buchanan, principal, Oak Park High School: kbuchanan@oakparkusd.org Lou Tabone, principal, Oak View High […]


Category Pages are limited to 90 days. Please use the archive page or the search box to find older articles.