2011-08-18

2011-08-18 E-Edition

… Thank you for supporting your local Acorn! You need to be a digital subscriber to view the rest of this content. Please Login or Subscribe Now! Username or E-mail Password Remember Me     Forgot Password

It’s T.H.E. way to give back to schools




A new educational foundation in the Las Virgenes Unified School District is busy raising money that will help lessen the dependency of local schools on the state. T.H.E. (Together Helping Education) Foundation is up and running thanks to founder and president Ziona Friedlander and a posse of like-minded citizens who are worried about how diminished funding from the state will […]

Where lions once roamed

Recently-released book chronicles rise, fall of T.O. park


The howls, growls and roars emanating from Jungleland have long been silenced, but memories of the storied animal park still reverberate for some longtime residents of Ventura County. “What I remember about it was the smell,” said Jeff Maulhardt, who recently released the pictorial book “Jungleland” about the place he visited as a child. “It smelled like a zoo. You […]

Enraptured by raptors



Dancers win national title



Reach Out to Your Local School District



Oak Park Unified District Office Switchboard: (818)735-3200 Administration Tony Knight, superintendent: TKnight@ opusd. k12.ca.us Cliff Moore, asst. superintendent: cmoore@opusd.k12.ca.us Debra Burgher, principal, Brookside Elementary School: dburgher@opusd.k12.ca.us Leslie Heilbron, principal, Oak Hills Elementary School: lheilbron@opusd.k12.ca.us Jon Duim, principal, Red Oak Elementary School: jduim@opusd.k12.ca.us Brad Benioff, principal, Medea Creek Middle School: bbenioff@opusd.k12.ca.us Kevin Buchanan, principal, Oak Park High School: kbuchanan@ opusd.k12.ca.us Lou […]

District and its education foundation try to mend ways

Sides disagreed over contract


Parties are working together to try to heal a rift between the Las Virgenes Unified School District and the Las Virgenes Educational Foundation, the district’s summer school support group. The spat occurred when Stuart Selter, LVEF founder and president, said the foundation was unwilling to sign a master agreement with the school district. The district and the foundation argued about […]

Runners take Junior Olympic gold



Boating safety classes



The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 73 will present a boating safety class from 8:30 a.m. to noon Saturdays, Sept. 10 to Oct. 1 at the Conejo Valley Adult Education Center, 1025 Old Farm Road, Thousand Oaks. To register, call (805) 497-2761.

Photography contest opens



The 13th annual Ocean and Coastal Amateur Photography Contest is open to amateurs who earn less than 50 percent of their income from photography. Photos should be of the California coast and ocean and coastal wildlife. The entry deadline is Fri., Sept. 2. Online voting ends on Fri., Sept. 16. To upload digital images for the contest, go to http://mycoastalphoto.com.


Category Pages are limited to 90 days. Please use the archive page or the search box to find older articles.