Show’s message of tolerance holds up

play review /// ‘Hairspray’

SPRITZY STARS—The “Hairspray” cast includes, clockwise from top left, Carzie Carter, Abby Cluster, Joella Bolen, Benjamin Glasner, Hannah Davey, Erin Eichberg, Caleb Heulitt and McKenna Tedrick.
The chlorofluorocarbons are flying at Conejo Players Theatre, which opened the 2002 Broadway musical “Hairspray” recently.
The show, based on John Waters’ 1988 non-musical motion picture, still holds up with its unsubtle messages of tolerance and love without boundaries. The production ...

Oops! An active online subscription is required to access this content.

Please login below or Subscribe today!