Newcomers join OPUSD school board

Ross, Hazelton, Helfstein take oath

The Oak Park Unified School District Board of Education officially welcomed three new members during its Dec. 9 reorganization meeting.
Derek Ross, Drew Hazelton and Denise Helfstein were sworn into offi ce, and a farewell was given to board president Mary Pallant, who had decided not to run for reelection. Superintendent Tony Knight said that when Pallant was elected to the board four years ago, the district had many tough decisions to make because the state was in a recession and educati...

Oops! An active online subscription is required to access this content.

Please login below or Subscribe today!