Chargers smother Eagles in Kanan Bowl

The Chargers are champs once again.

Agoura High’s football team defended its Canyon League title in emphatic fashion by defeating visiting Oak Park 42-14 on Nov. 3 in the Kanan Bowl.

Spencer Lin, Agoura’s senior quarterback who will likely be the league’s player of the year, threw six touchdown passes in the first half. He completed 16 of 17 passes for 266 yards, throwing three scoring strikes to Sean Hesen, two to Connor Pearce and one to Nico Della Ripa.

The Chargers, who improved to 6-4 overall, 3-0 in league, will open the CIF-Southern Section Division 9 playoffs at 7 p.m. on Friday at home against Cypress (7-3).

Oak Park, hampered by injuries for the second half of this season, finished 3-6 overall, 0-3 in league.

Nate Brubach led the Charger defense last weekend, racking up 14 tackles. Keenan Coop had 11 tackles. David Doane notched two sacks and eight tackles; he has 15 sacks this season. Della Ripa, Pearce, James Lockmann and Jackson Messick had interceptions.

Zack Kariya, who started the season as a receiver, played admirably in his last game in an Eagle uniform. Kariya, who switched to running back the past few weeks, finished with a game-high 102 rushing yards on 21 carries.

Michael Hewitt, an Oak Park senior receiver, had 10 receptions for 164 yards and one touchdown. Gianni Smith, a sophomore quarterback, had 80 passing yards and one rushing score.

Keith Mowatt and Ben Rubenfeld led the Eagles’ defense with 10 tackles apiece.